Project 365, Day 262; The Halls of Justice

This being Wednesday, and I’ve seen something called Wordless Wednesday going across several blogs, I’ll leave it to my photos and let you guess where I was today.

About Angeline M

Love travel and photography. Living in Northern California. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos. Iā€™m on Instagram: suze.munoz
This entry was posted in 365, A Little Bit of the Everyday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Project 365, Day 262; The Halls of Justice

  1. I’ve never been to one and this is an eye opener…although one guy seems to be in deep sleep in one of the photos.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      I don’t know why, but I seem to be on their roles….q2 years! Like clock work! And you can only sleep in the assembly room….once you get in to the court room, you’d better pay attention!.

      Like

  2. Amy says:

    It’s always a long process and long waiting…. 3 weeks without pay would be terrible.

    Like

  3. Why does jury duty always feel like a prison sentence?

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      I think because it’s something we haven’t chosen to do (even though we know it’s our civic duty). Given a surplus of free time, I guess I wouldn’t have minded so much….but I don’t have a lot of free time.

      Like

  4. So, did you get called, Angeline, or were you passed over? Can you take your laptop and do things, or do you just have to sit there, twiddling your thumbs, wishing you’d brought a decent book?

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      I was excused on the basis that my employer does not pay for our time out for jury duty, and this was going to be at least a 3 week trial. The judge was reluctant to let me go, because my husband has a salary from his job, but I must have had a very pathetic look on my face because he let me off…..and once in the court room, you have to turn all electronics off. While we waited to be called into the court room, from the assembly room, I did bring a book, thank god, because there was no cell phone reception in the basement of the building we were in.

      Like

      • It’s all so interesting. I’m amazed your employer doesn’t pay – I’d have thought it was a requirement of law. Glad you were given a reprieve – especially in those circumstances – I can’t imagine how it would be to be locked away for there weeks, putting your life on hold …

        Like

      • Angeline M says:

        That’s the thing; putting one’s own life on hold for that length of time is difficult to say the least. And then there is the guilt for wanting to get out of one’s civic duty…..I’m over it.

        Like

      • Good thing too – it’s the weekend šŸ™‚

        Like

  5. Madhu says:

    It’s a no brainer Angeline! Hope you weren’t in there too long šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thank goodness, I was in there just from 8:00 to 10:15, so not too bad. It’s a no brainer for sure, but my angst was that I wouldn’t be paid by my employer, and that my job duties would be piling up while I was gone.

      Like

  6. The first and last kinda give it away, but the middle four pics could be the DMV. Either way, you’re in hell!!!

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Was I ever. In the assembly room, we are captive; they have the town’s “hospitality” crew come in and tell us what they do, and then they show a video of a court proceedings so we know what to expect. My mind is screaming “get me outta here”. I wonder if anybody was taking a picture of me, and if my face registered what I was thinking.

      Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts