A Whiter Shade of Pale

whiteroses

The year was 1967. Procol Harum sang “We skipped the light fandango, turned cartwheels ‘cross the floor; I was feeling kinda seasick but the crowd called out for more….and so it was that later, as the miller told his tale, that her face, at first just ghostly, turned a whiter shade of pale…”

I was in Paris for a month in the summer of 1967, Anne, my assigned roommate at the Cite universitaire, played this song over and over again when she was in the room. I had the luxury of a private room almost every night.

http://youtu.be/Mb3iPP-tHdA

Inspiration from Ailsa’s Travel theme, pale.

About Angeline M

Love travel and photography. Living in Northern California. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos. I’m on Instagram: suze.munoz
This entry was posted in A Little Bit of the Everyday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to A Whiter Shade of Pale

  1. Oh this is a beautiful shot! Definitely one of your best ones. And I love A Whiter Shade of Pale. It’s a timeless classic.
    Alison

    Like

  2. Fantelius says:

    Great photo. You capture the mystery of beauty.

    Like

  3. FlaHam says:

    Angeline, you stopped by my blog recently and “liked” my post on my favoritie movie. Thank you for spending that time with me. I wish you much success and good fortune. Take care, Bill

    Like

  4. fgassette says:

    Welcome! Thank you for subscribing to follow my blog. I hope you are encouraged, inspired and enjoy the photos I take of life’s events as seen through the lens of my camera. Looking forward to following your posts as well.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  5. Madhu says:

    Stunningly gorgeous and sentimental! Look forward to the rest of the story 🙂

    Like

  6. TBM says:

    ah, memories.

    Like

  7. Love that song!! Great post, fantastic youtube – memory lane, Angeline! Thank you 🙂

    Like

  8. Jo Bryant says:

    Great shot Angeline. There is something so wonderful about that song. I just told someone else about something I found on my research rounds about it and a previously unknown last verse and the possible meanings of it.
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/whiter-shade-of-pale-a-bit-clearer-1449532.html
    Just in case you are interested…
    😉

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks Jo. 46 years later I went through Google with a fine tooth comb and researched all the meanings everyone has thought the lyrics mean, and I did see the one mentioned in the link you’ve provided. Really interesting info all the way around from Chaucer on down the line.
      46 YEARS????

      Like

  9. WildBlack says:

    Gorgeous shot 🙂

    Like

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    A stunning photo, Angeline. Really quite beautiful and your post is a wonderful response to the challenge.

    Like

  11. Wow, Angeline! That’s really, really pretty!

    Like

  12. lensandpensbysally says:

    Lovely and sentimental.

    Like

  13. Your photo is immensely beautiful…and the words following it too. I loved that song, and still do.

    Like

  14. Paula says:

    I love this song 🙂 An exquisite shot, Angeline 🙂

    Like

  15. Looks like a painting! Beautiful dreamy image! 🙂

    Like

  16. Rosemarie says:

    Many shades of white. Beautiful.

    Like

  17. thirdeyemom says:

    I love this song too as my parents used to play it all the time when I was growing up!

    Like

  18. The roses are just fantastic, Angeline – and the recollection of that enigmatic classic. Me, i was sewing my dress for the end of year formal – just dreaming of Paris … oooh 🙂

    Like

  19. P.S. Your photo of the flowers is gorgeous. Love it.

    Like

  20. veraersilia says:

    Absolutely charming post.

    Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts