The Letter M ~ Madonna

madonnaofthegarage

Madonna del Garage; her shrine is in our garage, nestled right up against the water heater.

madonnaofthegarage2

It gives me comfort to see my Madonna as I leave to go somewhere, and when I come home again.

The appearance of the Madonna of the Garage occurred after my mother’s death; when I emptied Mom’s apartment after she died, the Madonna was one of the things I clung to, my Mom seemed to always have her as far back as I can remember. I got home, started unloading my car, and absentmindedly placed the statue by the water heater while I unloaded everything else. That was four years ago, and we’ve moved since then, with her place just seeming right when she is by the water heater in the garage.

The Madonna del Garage can’t compare with Bernini’s Madonna del Prato, or the Madonna del Ghisallo, but this Madonna watches closely over us right here in California.

madonnaofthegarage3

For more on letters tagged M, visit our friend Frizztext

About Angeline M

Love travel and photography. Living in Northern California. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos. I’m on Instagram: suze.munoz
This entry was posted in A Little Bit of the Everyday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Letter M ~ Madonna

  1. dearrosie says:

    You know I think you may have started a new craze – we’re all going to rush out and get Madonnas to protect our hot water heaters.

    Like

  2. frizztext says:

    hi Angeline,
    Madonna del Garage;
    her shrine is in your garage,
    nestled right up against the water heater:
    a wonderful tribute to your mother, R.I.P.!

    Like

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    Considering all of the problems that can arise from a faulty water heater, having her stand guard there for you isn’s such a bad idea. My neighbors had a Madonna in their front yard, as many do around here. Someone actually stole it. No matter one’s religious beliefs, that is just so wrong on so many levels.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      You notice she has her eyes on that yellow lever. So that explains it, we have new neighbors a couple of blocks over, and the first thing I noticed was a Madonna in their front yard; they must be from the Chicago area! I’ll make the effort now to go say hello. I’d be worried if I stole a Madonna from anywhere, that is so wrong, and anyone would know that.

      Like

  4. Rosalyn Collier says:

    I even remember our madonna

    On Wed, 27 Mar 2013 01:35:40 +0000 AngelineM’s Blog

    Like

  5. Kind of like the tiny Buddha I have by the kitchen phone – guarding my incoming communications, as YOU suggested to me several years ago during difficult times. Do you remember?

    Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts