The Sunday Traveler~ Afternoon Edition, The Nuns and a Templo in San Miguel de Allende

sanmiguel temploimmaculada3

The Templo de la Immaculada Concepcion in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico. One of the many temples, or churches, that grace that incredible town. This is the first church the Sunday Traveler stumbled upon on a first walking trip in to town from my residence in one of the many colonias a little outside of the main downtown area. I was stunned at the colonial beauty and colors, and walked past it multiple times before actually going in to the courtyard behind these ochre walls.

sanmiguel temploimmaculada4

I ended up spending the better part of one afternoon just walking around in the small courtyard, or sitting on a bench taking in the feel of the history here, and watching the few people who were about that day just prior to Easter. The church was closed until later that evening. I knew I would probably not return again so just spent time there taking it all in; not a lot, but what drew me in and kept me there so long was the stone work, the textures, the colors. And I’ve heard often that a photographer needs to be patient. I found out why.

sanmiguel temploimmaculada7

sanmiguel temploimmaculada8

sanmiguel temploimmaculada2

I called out to the nuns to ask if they would let me in to the church, and I was told it was closed until evening.  I was already having this wonderful fantasy of being let in, just me, to see the church. Never hurts to ask. And I sat on the bench some more.

sanmiguel temploimmaculada6

The padre couldn’t believe I had dared ask. Or that I was taking his photo. Mea culpa.

sanmiguel temploimmaculada5

sanmiguel temploimmaculada

P1070445

P1070438

This was one of those rare afternoons, though in retrospect they were all rare, that I felt that I so belonged there, or maybe had been there before in another lifetime. It was hard walking out of that courtyard.

The Sunday Traveler has so many photos after spending one month in San Miguel. I plan to present them in future, with a break coming up for Sundays now until mid-July while I head out on another adventure, this time stateside. A jaunt from the San Francisco Bay Area to Denver via the Amtrak California Zephyr is about to happen. Stay tuned.

Hasta entonces.

As always, you can catch ongoing photos on my Instagram page at instragam.com/angeline.am

 

 

 

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Sunday Traveler~ Afternoon Edition, The Nuns and a Templo in San Miguel de Allende

  1. Wow! How inspiring to see your images! I so can’t wait to visit this place!!

    Like

  2. Wonderful images .. and those doors are something else. Shame you weren’t allowed in, but no harm asking! 🙂

    Like

  3. These are my favs of all your photos there – just inspired – just my cup of tea with texture and the warm colors of Mexico. I love them! Love those nuns! I cant get over how beautiful they are!

    Like

  4. Beautiful photos this week, Angeline. I look forward to seeing your photos from the ride on the Zephyr. We’ve talked about taking that ride someday in the Fall.
    Ω

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks, Allan. That little courtyard was filled with beauty. I am really looking forward to that train trip, and will be happy to tell you all about it when I get back. I’m sure I’ll have a lot of photos I’ll put on Instagram as I go along if you want to take a peek. I leave this coming Saturday morning.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Those doors! Magnificent! And I love your bravery in asking to go inside. 🙂

    Like

  6. Padre looks a tad too stern. 🙂 And the Zephyr… I love Amtrak experiences. Enjoy being aboard with all of its wondrous sights.

    Like

  7. You captured beautifully that wonderful old church. I remember it well. Such a gorgeous rich colour. I have many shots of it in the changing light. Love the pictures of the nuns!
    Have a great time on your trip. You off to visit Jo Ann? Say Hi for me.
    Alison

    Like

  8. Strange. My wife and I have been inside that church, and we just walked right in.

    Great shots, especially the nuns.

    Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

