The Sunday Traveler ~ Auspicious Beginnings in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico

san miguel 19

Arrival in San Miguel de Allende the first of March was not planned around the schedule of festivals to begin taking place for that month. I had been away from any intensive stay in Mexico for a while, and hadn’t thought to check on what events might be happening during my month long stay. My trip had been planned around volunteering at Casa de Los Angeles, a day care center for low income moms. What serendipity that March was filled with incredible festivals and events culminating in Semana Santa (Holy Week).

The volunteer house for Casa de Los Angeles is about a twenty-minute walk from the Centro Historico/Plaza Principal (historic center of town and garden). Another thing I had not found in all my research on San Miguel Allende (SMA), is that it sits at an altitude of 6,234 feet elevation! I had arrived in SMA March 1st, and didn’t have the energy to walk into town until Friday, the 4th. I could not figure out my fatigue until someone mentioned the altitude. As happened throughout my stay, synchronicity played a huge part in what I stumbled upon in my wanderings.

san miguel 32

I rounded a corner to find one of the main streets leading into the Centro, and to find a flow of people headed there. The Indian Conchero Dancers were on their way to participate in the First Friday of March festival of Our Lord of the Conquest. With this, I just decided to go with the flow, follow the dancers, and the deafeningly loud steady drum beat coming from the Plaza/Jardin Principal area. This was an incredibly beautiful and colorful late afternoon event in this incredibly beautiful old colonial town located in central Mexico.

san miguel 31

P1070072

P1070126

P1070075

san miguel 15

san miguel 21

san miguel 22

san miguel 23

san miguel 25

san miguel 8

san miguel 26

San Miguel is home to many American and Canadian expats, but is also an attraction to visitors from all over the world, and from all over Mexico; it is home to hundreds of artists, writers, and students. The cultural aspect of SMA is unparalleled.

 

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Sunday Traveler ~ Auspicious Beginnings in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico

  1. Wonderful colourful images 😃 what a great experience ..

    Like

  2. I remember that day! I actually knew it was on and planned to go to it. I was not disappointed! What a fabulous beginning to your stay.
    Alison

    Like

  3. What a grand experience–enjoyed this part of your trip and will await more about it. Sounds as though you gave and got much in return.

    Like

  4. mybrightlife says:

    I love how sometimes the unplanned events turn out to be some of the best! You must have loved being there amid all the atmosphere! I can feel the energy through your pictures. Hope to experience Mexico for myself one day but in the meanwhile I am really enjoying it through your blog and Instagram.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks so much! I sure found out that just going in with a loose schedule and being open to what ever presented itself was a wonderful way to enjoy each day.

      Like

  5. Nice photos, Angeline. SMA looks like a great place to visit in March.
    Ω

    Like

  6. Delightful experience, post and photos! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lexklein says:

    San Miguel de Allende is such a sunny place – in every respect! You’ve captured it so well.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jeff Bell says:

    What a cool experience. Mexico is one of the great countries in the world for festivals. Those costumes are very beautiful and elaborate.

    Like

  9. Nice shots, señorita.

    Where I live is higher than San Miguel. I’ve never felt any effect from the altitude at all though others, obviously, do. I wonder what makes one immune.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Angeline M says:

      It just lasted a couple days. I guess that I was already tired when I got there didn’t help. I thought at first it was my age too, but then the young volunteers felt it too upon arrival…ha!

      Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

