Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge ~ Nature Calls

roundvalley4final

Our recent relocation has placed us in a wonderful spot with nature that surrounds us, and calls to me. It’s all new, and I finally made a break for it yesterday afternoon to visit Round Valley Regional Preserve. This 1,911 acre preserve was once home to California Indians, and seemed to be a boundary between several different tribal groups. The open space is home to oak trees of different species, Manzanita, and a variety of other trees that are in their full glory in this late fall weather.  After parking my car and heading up one of the trails, I ran into one of the park security rangers who gave me a brief idea of the trails and their degree of ease or difficulty. I had on flip flops (go figure), so my visit was going to be brief with limited hiking. I had taken my camera out of hibernation, and with that around my neck and my phone in hand, I walked a short distance only. I’ll be back.

roundvalley1final

The light at around 2:30, with storm clouds coming up from the west, was incredible.

roundvalley2final

This was just a teaser visit. I can’t wait to get back, and it’s only ten minutes from where we live.

roundvalley5

iPhone 6 Plus used, with Camera+. Thanks to Lens and Pens by Sally for this challenge that motivated me to get out there yesterday.

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in iPhoneography, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge ~ Nature Calls

  1. Dalo 2013 says:

    What a great set of photos in finding a new area ~ beautiful, peaceful and a history that will be fun for you to learn over time…this post makes me feel great.

    Like

  2. What a wonderful place! Would be so good to ride a horse there .. Love the light in the second image .. Loving that mobile

    Like

  3. arlene says:

    Oh yeah, such lovely photos. and you are so lucky to live nearby.

    Like

  4. Angeline, I’d love to visit this area, both on horseback and on foot. What a lovely spot! Thanks for sharing it. When I’m not able to be in large parcels of nature, the wonderful parks in the Naperville (and in all of the Chicago metropolitan area) are what keep me sane. Just got back from a walk in “my” park and I could have stayed the rest of the day.

    janet

    Like

  5. Flip-flops? I cannot believe what I read.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Believe it. They are part of my uniform. The only reason I’m not wearing any today is because it’s raining, and even then, I hesitated walking out the door with real shoes on.

      Like

  6. thirdeyemom says:

    Beautiful Angeline! It is so nice to get outside in nature. It always makes me smile.

    Like

  7. There’s no place like the country. You’re blessed to be surrounded by such beauty and serenity. I like how the light streams through the leaves in the third photo.

    I really must learn how to ride a horse.

    Like

  8. LavendarLadi says:

    I love the photo with the sun coming though the trees. The grass looks so soft and I can almost hear it whispering to me!

    Like

  9. Amy says:

    Such a beautiful and special place! You sure want to go back again and again. 🙂 beautiful captures!

    Like

  10. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Nature (Refraction Series, 2015) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  11. Angeline, what glorious sweeping vistas–how fortunate to be so near such splendor. I live within a mile of a wild and scenic preserve (designated that title) called the White Clay Creek Preserve, which I can enter by foot from my home or drive to several nearby locations to enter at other vantage points. The 1,255 acres is what keeps me sane and is a sanctuary where I live in a small college town. But your vistas are the western ones that take you to a whole other places. Still, yours and mine–are spiritual journeys with similar internal results. I will await more interpretation by you of your new surroundings. Happy Photo Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Angeline M says:

      I consider myself so very blessed to have moved here. We’re in a small community, small town, with all of this beautiful wildness all around us. You also understand this joy with your surroundings! Yes, it is visits like this one that keep me functioning on a sane level; my mind was completely wrapped up in this during my 40 minute visit, and all worries vanished. Thanks, Sally. Have a good week. We have rain today!!!

      Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

