Weekly Photo Challenge~Achievement in Conservation

Airway View

The crowded corridor of the San Francisco East Bay Area, leading through sprawling suburban cities into California’s Central Valley, becomes more and more crowded as developers take over lands that were once ranchlands  and open spaces. Through grace and people with foresight, the county I live in has achieved a conservation strategy as support for implementing the priority for open space preservation.

airwayexit2

Thank God!

I took these photos from an access road to a very busy freeway. On the other side of the freeway from where I stood is an outlet mall, tract housing, and strip malls. That I could blot out the noise of the cars, trucks, and tankers whizzing by behind me, and get visually lost in this rural scene, was another achievement.

More photos from the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge can be found here.

 

 

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge~Achievement in Conservation

  1. Pingback: Finding Nemo in paper mache | Non perfect writing

  2. Glad to see you are still blogging away! Nice photos.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Well, there you are! I do believe I lost you somewhere along the line. Thanks for coming by, so that I could find you again. Yes, I find working on photos and travel posts to be a very therapeutic thing, and keep it going as a source of happiness in my life. So good to see you again, Eliz!

      Like

  3. I so agree. It’s very important to conserve some rural and nature areas from urban development. You pictures say it all. Simply so beautiful.

    Like

  4. Boots says:

    It’s great to see an open space and away from all the hustle and bustle, especially around San Francisco area. You’ve lived in Texas right? So you know there’s plenty of that here lol!

    Like

  5. jackiemallon says:

    A beautiful representation of making peace with the earth. So still and satisfying. Well done!

    Like

  6. Patti Kuche says:

    Fabulous vistas Angeline, long may they remain!

    Like

  7. We truly need these conservation and preservation policies to keep our planet healthier and sustain its present and future existence as we know it. I’m upset about the passage of new reservoirs in California; seems to favor of the farmers planting new crops rather than cutting back on usage. Where will they get the water for the reservoirs? Angeline, these kinds of posts help people understand the importance of advocacy on any level.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      I have loved these hills surrounding me in what is called the Tri-Valley area of the East Bay since we first moved here in 1975 (with a short stint in the Central Valley; also beautiful). Hills and valleys that are beautifully green in spring, and beautifully golden in summer. I think it’s time I start talking about this more, and doing what I can to promote preservation. I’ve seen all too well what developers have done over the years. As for the reservoirs, I am guessing the only way to fill them is with rain water….I can only hope that happens. Thanks, Sally for your input.

      Like

  8. Amy says:

    Conservation is a good thing. Wonderful take on, Angeline!

    Like

  9. John says:

    Well said, Angeline. It’s a great achievement, having spent three years
    of our life working on a Conservation Easement, then leaving empty-handed due to too much legalese. The naked, well-worn foothills of California’s Coast Range are so soothing to the eye and mind, but so easy to develop. Once planted with houses, no one would ever know the difference. And we need to know the difference.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      It’s those of us who have been here for years, who know the beauty of the hills, who have to take up the cause to keep them as they are. Thanks, John. I can truly understand how politics and developers create boondoggles to get what they want.

      Like

  10. mihrank says:

    amazing and classical composition!

    Like

  11. Suzanne says:

    Fascinating photos and story – what a terrific take on the challenge

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks, Suzanne. I was out taking these photos last week. I hadn’t been out with my camera very much lately, and this was a glorious day of clouds and sun. The view in the background in the first photo is to the west, and rain was slowly making its way into the valley.

      Like

  12. Boeta says:

    Love the photo.

    Like

  13. Lovely rural scenes. It reminds me of the Okanagan area in BC where I live!!

    Like

  14. The accomplishment of conserving open space is one I love and support.

    janet

    Like

  15. bulldog says:

    Angeline… I love the peace and quiet these photos depict… lovely…

    Like

  16. So sad about modern development there as I hope o retire there in the beautiful surrounds.

    Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

