The Sunday Traveler~Mission and 24th Street Station

missionstation

Taking Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART) into San Francisco from the East Bay can deliver you into new worlds.  I’ve settled into my new digs in the aforementioned East Bay, and have started striking out to venture to places along the BART  system that I never seemed to have had time for in years past.

Last week provided for a beautiful fall day, perfect for a trip to wander in to the City for a walkabout, and lunch on an unusually warm day for San Francisco. I was off for a quick intro visit to San Francisco’s Mission District.

That I was in a wonderful  area of the City hit me the minute I came up from the train’s platform level, to the turnstile exit area, with sights and smells that hit my senses on all levels. It was just about lunch time and the smell of wonderful Mexican food wafted down the stairs into the station grabbing my immediate attention. As I looked around at the architecture of the station walls, and looked up the stairs leading to the street, I knew I was going to have a good afternoon.

missionstation2

I’ll have a little more at street level on the next Sunday Traveler. As time and weather permits, I will be showcasing other BART stations and locales around the City. Inspiration for this series comes from a fellow blogger, Peter Davies, who has done a wonderful series on Metro stations in Mexico City, MCM Project.

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Sunday Traveler~Mission and 24th Street Station

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    So often we see individuals walking up into the light. The first photo shows just the opposite and the effect is so much more thought-provoking. Very nicely done, Angeline.

    Like

  2. I love the dreamy processing here and the light. This is a story!!! The wall one is exceptional too!

    Like

  3. My favorite is the first. Even with his descent I am pulled into the unknown.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks, Sally. When I looked up and saw this scene, and the light at the top of the stairs, I thought I heard an angel’s choir…just kidding. It does look so much like the unknown at the top.

      Like

  4. Amy says:

    The wall decorations are very unique. I also like how they use art works to decorate at the SF airport. Great captures, Angeline!

    Like

  5. Enjoy your striking out and venturing, Angeline. Explore and revel in what you discover.

    Like

  6. Colline says:

    I love the way the station has been decorated Angeline.

    Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

