The Sunday Traveler ~ Byodo-In Temple, Oahu

byodo1

The Byodo-In temple in Kaneohe, Hawaii on the island of Oahu, is a replica of the Byodo-In located in Uji, Japan. The temple commemorates the 100th anniversary of the arrival of Hawaii’s first Japanese immigrants. It was dedicated in June, 1968.

byodo12

The Byodo-In has got to be one of Oahu’s best kept secrets; I’ve been going to Oahu for years, and have made the tour rounds, but had never heard of this temple until this visit.ย  I had seen another blog talking about hiking on Oahu and there was a temple that could be seen in the photo. I asked the blogger about the temple, but not much could be told to me. I was then on a quest, and googled temples on Oahu and found the Byodo-In (not the one I had seen in the other blog). Upon arriving on the island, I found that there was a tour of the island that included the Byodo-In. I was on the tour the next day, for a day long photography orgy, the temple being a short 30 minute visit.

byodo5

I removed my shoes as I entered the temple, walked in and was in awe. Never did I expect something as wonderful as this.

byodo9

There were only a couple of other people inside the temple, everyone else had rushed through to the gift shop (I know, I found that hard to believe myself).

byodo6

The grounds of the temple are lovely…I was late getting back to the tour van, but gladly accepted the glares from the other tourists showing their displeasure at my lateness. I couldn’t help myself (and I didn’t do it again the rest of the tour).

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Sunday Traveler ~ Byodo-In Temple, Oahu

  1. Boots says:

    I am planning to visit the temple in March. I found it in the Insight Guides book. I’ve also been to Oahu many times but not sure how I missed this on those previous visits ๐Ÿ˜‰ Glad to know it’s worth the visit! Thanks for the post!

    Like

  2. Dalo 2013 says:

    Wow, that is a secret, as I never knew Oahu had this treasure…now another reason to head back to Oahu ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    What a find, Angeline! The temple and grounds are quite beautiful. Such a serene place and, blissfully, there are few tourists to spoil it. May it remain that way.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      I could not believe I had never found this place in years past. A definite “find”. It’s off the beaten tourist track of all that there is in Honolulu, so I hope it does remain unspoiled.

      Like

  4. Wow! Beautiful! I’m happy you were late getting back to the van! ๐Ÿ™‚ This place was begging for your discovery.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks, K! And I absolutely approve of your encouragement in my being the most “aggravating” tourist of the group ๐Ÿ™‚
      I should have just rented a car, but the freeways in Honolulu are awful!

      Like

  5. Colline says:

    What a beautifully serene place to visit. Half an hour is not enough time.

    Like

  6. What an amazing temple! And black swans are gorgeous.

    Like

  7. vastlycurious.com says:

    What a beautiful place surrounded in green and the mountain backdrop ! Thanks for sharing ๐ŸŒท

    Like

  8. Amy says:

    That is a grand temple! The buddha looks majestic. These photos are beautiful, Angeline.

    Like

  9. bulldog says:

    What a magnificent place to visit. …love the photos

    Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

