Weekly Photo Challenge~Refraction Through a Kaleidoscope

kalaidascope3

I don’t know what possessed me several weeks ago to hold up my smart phone to the view piece of a kaleidoscope we have had for years, face a door to the outside for light, and snap a photo.  I could not keep the kaleidoscope steady with one hand, so could not keep it centered, thus the off-balance composition. But, for today’s challenge, the refraction amazes me now just as it did when I was a child.

kaladascope5

More entries to the challenge on refractions can be found here.

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge~Refraction Through a Kaleidoscope

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    I’m with you, Angeline. I’m every bit as amazed, peering into a kaleidoscope, as I was many years ago. I can’t believe you were able to capture the image. Well done!

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks, John. I was so frustrated because I just couldn’t center it; my hand kept moving. I’m so stubborn, I wouldn’t put the kaleidoscope on a flat surface and then try to get the phone up to the eye part to snap the photo. Don’t ask me why.

      Like

  2. Amyy says:

    How clever, Angeline! Fascinating kaleidoscope refraction capture!

    Like

  3. Great image for the challenge, Angeline. 🙂 I loved kaleidoscopes when I was a kid.

    Like

  4. This is a very creative solution to the challenge, congrats. On a side-note. there is an app called KaleidaCam that can turn photos into marvelous works of multicolored geometrical construction.

    Like

  5. ilargia64 says:

    WoW Angeline!! I agreee….It is something so fantastic and creative!!! Love it!!!

    Like

  6. pattimoed says:

    Hi Angeline! We had similar ideas for the challenge! What fun. 🙂 Kaleidoscopes are gorgeous, aren’t they? Perfect for this challenge!–Patti

    Like

  7. I remember, back in the 60’s at art school, having a filter for my camera that created a kaleidoscope effect….still fascinating…

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Allan, in a comment above, tells me there is a phone app with this kind of filter. I’ll be looking for it. The neighbors must wonder about me, standing on the balcony staring through the kaleidoscope at all hours to see the effects of different light at different times of day.

      Like

  8. Suzanne says:

    What a great idea and what a fantastic photo came from it.

    Like

  9. bulldog says:

    I love Kaleidoscopes, even at this age and knowing full well how they work, it still fascinates me to look through my Grand kids cheap ones… but to think to take a photo of what one sees … brilliant…

    Like

  10. cindy knoke says:

    stunning & so creative!

    Like

  11. What a brilliant idea! Great photo – really interesting.
    Alison

    Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

