The Sunday Traveler: Reno Revisited

horsemuseum

A standing (no pun intended) piece of art outside the Nevada Museum of Art in Reno.

The exhibit I went to see, Doris Duke’s Shangri La, Architecture Landscape and Islamic Art, was very interesting, and well curated. I’ve read a bit more about her life online, and it’s an interesting story of an extremely wealthy heiress, art collector, and philanthropist.

museumoutdoorsculpture

Amongst the many other galleries in the museum, I also found a new exhibit by painter Alfredo Ramos Martinez who I was not familiar with, but will be looking for in future at local museums.

And why is the Sunday Traveler posting photos of these outdoor sculptures at the Nevada Museum of Art? Well, the Sunday Traveler was a naughty girl, and snapped quite a few photos inside the Doris Duke exhibit before being told by a guard to cease and desist. I may or may not have seen a sign on the entrance stating no photos allowed. I don’t know what got into me.  Now with some lovely photos of Shangri La on my cell phone, I trust my gut instinct to not print them for fear of legal entanglements.  The Sunday Traveler becomes rather nervous at the thought of Sundays in the slammer.  What I can do is provide a link to photos found online here that are a few of those my phone and I remember; and a link to the museum’s info on the exhibit here

Next Sunday, I will introduce you to another new fun find in Reno, and the people I met there. And I can actually post those photos with no thoughts of retribution.

 

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Sunday Traveler: Reno Revisited

  1. Madhu says:

    Venice was strange that way, the rule breaking happened in full view of the guards – more dishy than menacing usually – and no one said a word! So I have a couple of ‘what the hell!’ shots although I am uncomfortable posting them as well 🙂 The horse and the lotus are both beautiful. Look forward to seeing the paintings.

    Like

  2. Ooo! The horse is a bit scary looking!

    Like

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    Yeah, you don’t want to find yourself in an orange jumpsuit, Angeline, no matter how trendy it is. Besides, there is the chance, albeit a teeny one, that you could end up in that Michigan community where they’re ditching the orange in favor of the retro black and white stripes. Worse, the stripes are horizontal and no one looks good in them. 🙂

    Like

  4. Slammer = NOT. Even if photos are tempting to share. Remember, there’s no wifi in prison. #OITNB

    Like

  5. Imelda says:

    Too bad you can’t post the photos, but better be safe and free. 🙂

    Like

  6. thirdeyemom says:

    Lovely photos Angeline! Reno’s museum looks fabulous.

    Like

  7. Amy says:

    I like both images, Angeline! Why not let people take photos? Enjoy your Sunday Traveler 🙂

    Like

  8. I love the horse – and its reflection – and am so pleased you posted it, but I’m incensed about your not being able to shoot in the Doris Duke exhibition! I know. A bit of an exaggeration, but it really gets me going … Hope you’re having a good rest? 🙂

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      See my reply to Amy. I’m thinking I am going to write a letter to the museum admin to ask about this, given most of the photos are online. But it was a lovely afternoon anway, and I’ve come back all refreshed and ready to dive in to packing for our upcoming move.

      Like

  9. Powerful arch in the horse ! The best way to use old or broken timber!

    Like

  10. Before I even read a word or noticed it was AngelineM’s blog, I knew from the photo that it was yours. You’re developing a (good) visual reputation here. 🙂

    Like

  11. Same thing happened to me in Singapore – the most strict of all places – and I am snapping away inside a very elegant gallery until a person looking dark & menacing tapped me on the shoulder. They throw you in the slammer for far less than that in Singapore….
    Love this horse!

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      I have to wonder how long they were watching me before sending the guard over to chat with me. They do look menacing, don’t they! I’d be really nervous about this in Singapore!!

      Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

