Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of You

bluehue

The title of the challenge is misleading, it’s really the hue of me. One thing I’m finding through my photography, and reveling in it, is color. It must have been the dreary school uniforms I had to wear growing up, then the nurse’s whites which I had to wear throughout nursing school (to this day I will not wear white shoes). I’m slowly experimenting in black and white photography, I understand its impact, and the subtle nuance it brings to a photo, but give me color, like this flower pot. In your face blue with a couple of dabs of butter yellow, and a shot of hot pink just for good measure.

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in A Little Bit of the Everyday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of You

  1. The out of focus flower pops the pic beautifully.

    Like

  2. Madhu says:

    Such a gorgeous blue Angeline! You must have an amazing collection of ceramics! 🙂

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks! It’s funny I started with hues of blue patterns in flower pots for my patio several years ago, and at first thought the color seemed odd with green plants in them, but it works very nicely.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: BLUE SKY, BLUE SEA – BLUE HUE IS ME | SERENDIPITY

  4. Patti Kuche says:

    That blue is such a wonderful zinger, like a shimmering pool of water!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : The Hue of Blue and Yellow | I see beauty all around by rob paine

  6. Amy says:

    The school uniforms did to me too… Love this one 🙂

    Like

  7. Pingback: Kind of blue and other colours | Tish Farrell

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    I, too, am drawn to color, Angeline, and would have loved this pot just as you do. Pastels are nice but give me the jewel hues. Like a moth to a flame … 🙂

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      I love your analogy…like a moth to a flame! So true..my eyes just zoom to something full of color.
      This pot has a chip on the back side, so I got a lovely little discount on it when I bought it. And the color is what made me just have to have it.

      Like

  9. dadirri7 says:

    it is really in-your-face blue Angeline! the splash of pink geranium emphasises the intense blue and striking yellow perfectly … great shot!

    Like

  10. Rob says:

    Blogging has really brought photography back into my life – and I am still learning. One of the things I love when I take pictures is color – although I do take black and white and convert color photos to black and white.

    I love your photo! Blue is absolutely my favorite color. The blue you chose is so vibrant and the butter yellow is a nice compliment. I love how you brought in the little bit of pink on the side. It really shows off the blue. A very good choice for the challenge 🙂

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thank you! I resisted black and white for a long time, and am just slowly making my way in that arena. Someone said that the world is in color, so why photograph it in black and white 🙂
      Nice to have you stop in and visit with another fan of blue.

      Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

