The Sunday Chronicle Evening Edition

manzanillo1

One final story to share on the trips to Mexico, currently being relived through a box of recently found old photos.

If our getting to Mexico was always an adventure,  the days following our arrival smacked of intrigue. Maps were laid out on the kitchen table in my Aunt Angeline’s kitchen, much discussion and debate was held on where we should go, where to stop along the way, and then renting an apartment or house to stay at. Once a decision had been made, the in earnest work began with trips to the marketplace for provisions; my aunt and uncle did not take this planning lightly, and cars were loaded down with boxes of food staples and, in a lot of cases, beach equipment, and the suitcases. The photo above, from what I can remember, is a pretty fair representation of what our travel caravan looked like. Heck, the photo is not a representation, it is the real deal. I don’t know why, but for you old enough to remember, this photo makes me think of Ma and Pa Kettle (Mexican style).

manzanillo4

The place we returned to several times was Manzanillo, south of Puerto Vallarta. It was a quaint little town on the Pacific when we went back then; now it is a major port, and has been built up to be one of the glitzy Mexican Riviera-type places. The photo above is an old postcard that was in the box with all the photos I found.

manzanillo2

My aunt and uncle always managed to rent a place to stay that was either right on the beach, or a close walk to it.  I do remember this road down to the beach quite well, and sitting on a veranda watching the people go by on the way in to the church in town, or down to the beach. Men on the way to the beach with food to sell, and fishermen walking back up the road to their homes with freshly caught fish; and then there is the vivid memory of two men walking up the road carrying a huge octopus over a long stick, one man at each end. To this day, that vision gives me the chills. To think I would water ski out in that ocean with something like that lurking underneath me. To this day I will not eat Calamari, and I know that’s squid, but the tentacle things are along the same lines. It was those tentacles that gave me nightmares for a long time.

manzanillo3

Another postcard found of the then Manzanillo, that I can only imagine what the changes have created there now.

Our days consisted of swimming, water skiing, napping, and eating. I always managed to make time for my favorite pastime

manzanillo5

The archeological dig out in the garage has been stalled due to a little side trip, and the continuing oppressive heat here. The fall weather can’t be far off, and the dig can then continue.

The previous entry on travel to Mexico can be found here.

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in A Little Bit of the Everyday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Sunday Chronicle Evening Edition

  1. Madhu says:

    Another wonderful account Angeline. I can imagine how much you will want to return to these places and relive those memories all over again 🙂

    Like

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    Very nice, Angeline. I really enjoy these posts and how lucky you are to have these photos. How you must enjoy going through them all. I know I would. 🙂

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks, John. It’s been very vexing that I can’t get out in the garage to really spend more time…but soon. It looks like we have another week or so of heat (in the high 90s), and then we should ease into fall weather that is just right to continue the dig.

      Like

  3. Amy says:

    I really enjoy reading your memories. These photos are beautiful and precious. You certainly have done a great job of spreading good words about Mexico. It’s beautiful country, and people are friendly and are hard workers…

    Like

  4. I enjoyed your commentary and the images from the past–nicely done.

    Like

  5. Colline says:

    It is interesting to see the sights as they were then.

    Like

  6. Alison says:

    Thank you for this wonderful journey. We didn’t go to Manzanillo since we’d heard it’s a big industrial city. We went instead to La Manzanilla, one hour north of Manzanillo, which is still a small fishing village with a beautiful beach, just as I imagine Manzanillo was when you went there. Those trips to Mexico, way back then, must have been amazing. Your parents were certainly very adventurous.
    There’s no box to click so I can get an email if you reply 😦

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      I’m so glad you’ve followed along, Alison. Your photos of La Manzanilla on your blog definitely reminded me of the Manzanillo of years ago. My parents definitely were adventurous and loved to travel.
      Yikes, you told me about the no box to click last time and I forgot…going there now to see if I can figure out how to fix that. Thanks.

      Like

  7. dadirri7 says:

    another treasure from your trove in the garage …. thanks for sharing your memories of these wonderful holidays, i am learning quite a bit!

    Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

