The Sunday Chronicle … Mexico Memories

mexicochurch2

Boxes of memories in the garage waiting to be remembered. Photos of my childhood; my parents and brother long since gone, friends, my children’s childhoods.  It’s been a long time since I’ve been there.

The most exciting find has been a box full of photos that my parents, or brother, took on our many trips to Mexico to visit relatives when I was young. Some of these photos may even be from before my time. I don’t know. No date, and no written reminders are on the backs of the photos. I feel like I’m on an archeological dig and hit it big (sifting through the dusty boxes in the garage in 100 degree heat just adds to that feeling).

The trips to Mexico were a life changing event for me, only I didn’t know it at the time.  The love of travel was instilled in me; and, the thrill of Mexico, my culture, and my people, has never left my soul. I spent summers there with relatives every year, and spent my sophomore year of high school there in a Mexican school.

Travel within Mexico was always the order of the day during my summers there.  I’m not sure, but I think all of my relatives were on a mission to help me see and understand this wonderful country.

There will be more coming on this, but I will leave you with one last photo today

churchfront2

I estimate these photos to be circa mid to late 1940’s.

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in A Little Bit of the Everyday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Sunday Chronicle … Mexico Memories

  1. Angeline, I love how vintage photographs can whisk us back to the past – if only for a moment. My parents have recently discovered some old papers in the attic of their German home, and I can’t wait to explore them.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Sunday Chronicle…More On Mexico | AngelineM's Blog

  3. It’s always interesting to see old photos from places, even if I haven’t been there myself. I like those little journeys down memory lane and I enjoy seeing buildings, vehicles and how people generrally dressed. It’s very interesting. Thanks for sharing this Angeline. I hope to see more.

    Like

  4. Patti Kuche says:

    What an exciting find for you and what memories! How lovely that you had such kind and hospitable relatives to keep that spirit of Mexico so alive for you. So want to go there and explore! Enjoy your travels down memory lanes!

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks, Patti. It continues to be exciting as I slowly go through photos (at a slow pace because it has been too hot to be out in the garage for very long periods of time). The relatives were fantastic!
      I am retiring in several months, and celebrating with a trip back to Mexico for two weeks; that will be the first of many more to come.

      Like

  5. Madhu says:

    Priceless treasures Angeline! When my mother moved into her apartment we lost a whole lot of old photos – each sister thought the other had them – and along with them every record of our old life! So I know how much these must mean to you. Look forward to reliving your memories with you 🙂

    Like

  6. Paula says:

    These are a beautiful and exciting find, Angeline. You should treasure them, and I know you do. I lost all the photos from my father’s side of the family due to the war that happened here some 20 years ago….

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks, Paula. I am so happy about these photos. I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your family photos, and I think especially tragic that the cause was from war. I think chronicling the history you know in words might be a wonderful way to keep some memories alive, if you haven’t already. I know that I have to put the story with the photos I’ve found, for my kids to know the historical background and more about their ancestors.

      Like

  7. Great photos. I really enjoyed seeing that time period.

    Like

  8. dadirri7 says:

    How exciting to find those old photos! My parents old slides were all accidentally destroyed … but I have my childhood snaps … have fun working through your treasure trove (as Jo says!) and share some with us as you go 🙂

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      How sad to lose all the slides! I am having great fun going through all of my new finds in the “treasure trove”. Hope you’ve scanned and backed up all of your childhood snaps!

      Like

  9. Pretty fascinating stuff I would imagine….the ones you have published are really interesting.

    Like

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    It’s wonderful to come upon a box of old family photos, isn’t it? It sounds like you’ve a treasure trove here. I look forward to seeing what else you’ll share, Angeline.

    Like

  11. treneebolton says:

    Can’t wait to see more!

    Like

  12. Jo Bryant says:

    Oh Angeline…what a treasure trove. Can’t wait to see more. How wonderful that you got to spend so much time in Mexico and learn to love and appreciate your roots.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks, Jo. I feel so blessed to have had that experience. That Sophomore year in a Mexican school was a bit dicey at first; I used to cry all the way to school every morning, but once I met friends and realized this was something pretty darn special, I was ok.

      Like

      • Jo Bryant says:

        It is a difficult age anyway so you were very brave to go there and to see it through.

        Like

      • Angeline M says:

        Brave in the respect that I sucked it up and went with the program……I was given no say in the matter. I had a few choice thoughts about my father during those first few months; now, I am ever so grateful to him.

        Like

  13. ShimonZ says:

    Maybe it was just the right time for me… and maybe it was an affinity with the place and the people, but Mexico was a country that I really fell in love with, and I remember my time spent there as one of the best times of my life. It reminded me in many ways of Israel, though I suppose if I were looking for differences, I could have found a lot of those too. How nice for you that you have found all those beautiful pictures.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      I truly think that if a foreign country is given a chance, one will see more similarities than differences. How wonderful that you were able to spend time there…and that you loved it.
      Those boxes of photos have been sitting in our garage for years, and I’ve briefly gone through some in the past, but somehow had never looked into this box with all of these photos from Mexico years. I still cannot believe the treasure trove I have found that has been sitting under my nose for so long. I think the Universe knew I was ready for them now.

      Like

  14. Amy says:

    I’m so happy you found your precious photos in your garage. Beautiful buildings and people of these two photos, which have historic value. Thank you for sharing with us. I lost many old pics during moving…

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks, Amy. This one box and a couple of others had been in my parent’s house in San Antonio for years, and when I moved them out to California to be near me, the photos got dumped into clean boxes and came to live in my garage 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

