The Letter S

S is for Sayulita (pronounced sighulita), a little town on  the beach in Mexico, about 25 miles north of Puerto Vallarta

sayulitapalapas

Before we visited Puerto Vallarta a few years ago, I had begun researching and reading about the surrounding areas. Sayulita came up again and again, almost as if an indication that I needed to go and see this place.  I did, and I fell in love with it. If it weren’t for the torrid tropical heat and humidity of their summers (that lasted into early November the year we were there), I might just pack my bags and run away to live there.  In spite of all this, it’s beautiful.  Small, quaint, and just how a small Mexican village by the ocean should look (in my mind). It’s the quintessential laid back do nothing but try to stay cool kind of place, as you swing in a hammock and drink a cool cocktail in the shade of a palapa.

Click on any photo to start the slides

Frizztext‘s site will survey all of the S’s sent to be seen this week

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in A Little Bit of the Everyday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Letter S

  1. Radita says:

    Sayulita is amazingly picturesque, and you capture it well. I’m moving there soon and I’m trying to figure out the right camera to bring, unfortunately I lost my good SLR in Sayulita and need to replace it. I’d actually like something small but with a lot of manual options. Do you have any suggestions?

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thank you! I love Sayulita, and hope I can return soon. I’m definitely not a camera expert, and I really just started photography not much before we went to Sayulita. At that time I was using a Canon Powershot XS40 that is small, but still has manual settings. Now I’m using a Panasonic Lumix, that I really like; it has a big zoom, and doesn’t need any extra lenses, that I see as a deterrent when I’m traveling. I’d ask around to see what some of the experts recommend. Hope all goes well with your move.

      Like

  2. Felt like paradise. Love every piece of the fun, exciting pictures.

    Like

  3. Help! I can’t stop playing your slideshow! Que bonita!

    Like

  4. frizztext says:

    “…quintessential laid back do nothing
    but try to stay cool kind of place,
    as you swing in a hammock…”
    greetings by
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/03/12/weekly-photo-challenge-home/

    Like

  5. no cruise ships? your description and great photos make it sound like a good place to visit

    Like

  6. It looks gorgeous, Angeline – but as you say, perhaps not for running away from home for good – just for the winter, perhaps? 🙂

    Like

  7. Beautiful! I love Sayulita! We have two great friends who married there and later ditched their lives in America for carefree, beachside living in this little town. Seven years later… they’re still there and love it. Thanks for sharing your photos!

    Like

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    That first photo looks so very tropical and could have been taken in so many places. It’s quintessential tropics — and I do love it! Look how blue that water is!

    Like

  9. Amy says:

    By looking at you photos, I am in love with the place. 🙂

    Like

  10. Yes Angeline – it looks exactly like the kind of place that makes you want to run away from home, to go and live there 🙂
    Beautiful photos!

    Like

  11. Madhu says:

    How beautiful! Seems pristine and unspoilt Angeline.

    Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

