Sunday Morning Light

kaiguang

Kaiguang, opening of light.

Do you remember the monk on Market Street I spoke about? That post is found here. The bracelet isn’t the only thing he gave me, he pressed this amulet into my hand as well.

I left the prayer happening with the monk feeling extremely light and full of peace, and attributed those feelings to a day of warm sunshine, and my day of freedom in the City. I slipped the amulet into my purse and didn’t think about it again until I got home that evening.

I did a little research on Wikipedia, and had to laugh when I saw another couple of entries in Google from people who had also been given this amulet by monks they encountered quite unexpectedly, as I had, and being kind of nervous as to what it meant.

Wikipedia tells us that Kaiguang is the Chinese term of consecration of a statue of a deity. The literal meaning of Kaiguang is “opening of light”, and is often performed in the Buddhist and Taoist faiths by senior clerics; it is done by inviting a specific deity, Buddha or bodhisattva to empower an “empty” effigy of themselves and to fill it with a divine essence.

I now have to wonder if my feelings of peace and lightness after leaving the monk had anything to do with this amulet.

For entries on other types of light, visit Ailsa’s weekly travel challenge, this week on light.

I processed this iPhone photo with the app, FilterMania2 for the light effects.

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in A Little Bit of the Everyday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sunday Morning Light

  1. Incredible sacred gift to be given … the gift of peace and light. I would float through life if I were ever able to meet a monk. Just reading about it gave me a chill.
    Namaste 🙏

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Even though I’ve since found that there are several that cover the San Francisco area, and want donations, I still remember that peacefulness that I felt with him.
      Namaste

      Like

  2. Interesting story about the amulet. Do you still have it? Does it still make you feel at peace? It is not often we make such miraculous meetings. Inspirational post Angeline.

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for reading my post! Your blog is fascinating! All the Best to you.

    Like

  4. Nida says:

    Today I was walking in Melbourne Australia with my wife and two young children, we we’re wandering aimlessly just seeing where we might end up. I started lagging behind while my wife walked just ahead of me pushing the pram with the kids riding on it. Up ahead I noticed this monk heading toward me he was looking at me and I at him but I had sunglasses on so there was no eye contact, he came straight at me in the very busy street not looking at anyone else. He placed a gold amulet in my hand and asked me too sign my name for peace and sign my town for peace and sign for a donation. As I was signing my first name and state I lived I anticapated he would ask for a donation, I reached in my pocket and pulled out $1 he looked at the coin and had no reaction and turned too walk away I said to him wait and got out my wallet and gave him a further $5 again no reaction we both turned and walked away in different directions I never looked back and guess he didn’t either. I walked on down the street a little confused but also feeling quite good and at peace. I am a tall tattooed man found it weird he choose me. Anyway was a great experience

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Another wonderful story to add to my collection. It’s interesting how the monks seem to choose someone quite at random. As I said in my post, he was like a magnet to me, and I don’t think our interaction could have been avoided. I also had that wonderful feeling of calm and peace after I walked away. Thanks for stopping in to tell me your story.

      Like

  5. gepa25 says:

    This JUST happened to me outside of New York Penn Station waiting for a train. I’m a devout Catholic, but when this tiny, peaceful woman walked up to me, I felt no inclination that she was some street peddler (whom I usually ignore)…she placed this ornate golden card in my hand, and slipped the bracelet around my wrist. Then, handed me a weathered notepad with only three names in it, asked me to sign and I did along with the only money I had on me at the time. I looked at the card interested, looked up, and HAND TO GOD, she was gone. I am very weary of jeopardizing what I perceive to be my soul in the hereafter so I was worried I had been swindled by some cultist, until I googled the writing on what I now know is an amulet. It’s a beautiful sentiment, what she so graciously gave me. I’m still worried how the acceptance of this gift may conflict with my already established religious beliefs…

    If you have any input, please let me know. Thank you!!

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      I hadn’t known about this until my experience with the monk in San Francisco. I don’t think it could conflict with your already established religious beliefs, but maybe add to them in that some stranger appeared to show you light and love. And if that isn’t God at work, I don’t know what is. Enjoy the amulet and the experience!

      Like

  6. Madhu says:

    Love the light effects! Makes it seem even more intriguing 🙂

    Like

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Fascinating stuff, Angeline.

    Like

  8. Jo Bryant says:

    what a lovely thought…that it would bring light to your life

    Like

  9. Amy says:

    I, too, am fascinated. Thank you for sharing your research and story! That is so clever to use it for the light theme.

    Like

  10. veraersilia says:

    If you believe it – it is so…. v.

    Like

  11. I am fascinated with this story! Thanks so much!

    Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

