Project 365, Day 139; Cowboy In My Mind

Driving down the country road leading out of our little neighborhood towards the main street; CD playing Sting’s When We Dance; my mind always strays when I hear this song, the music and lyrics grab my heart. I glance over to a field on my right and see a cowboy brushing his horse. The cowboy has a tan Stetson on, a denim shirt and jeans; he’s reaching up to brush the brown horse’s back, dust billowing up off the hide. I want a photo, but I’ve gone by too fast and lost the only spot for parking by the field. I drive on until I get to a driveway where I can turn around,and head back. They’re gone. I pull over, the field is empty.  It had only been a couple of minutes. Did I really see them?

I was in a rather dreamy state and went exploring down another country road to take a photo of a barn I’ve seen many times.

Photos by Angeline M, iPhone 4s, ArtistaOil  app processing

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in 365, A Little Bit of the Everyday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Project 365, Day 139; Cowboy In My Mind

  1. I’ve never been to Texas, but it looks very peaceful from here!
    Are you a photographer by trade or avocation? The barn reminds me of my great-grandparents’ dairy farm. They used to put powdered lye down on the floor of the milking barn, as an antiseptic, I guess. It was still there on the floor about 50 years later. A little time-capsule.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Hi, I grew up in Texas, but now live in Northern California. The rural areas around me are an abundance of photographic opportunities. I’m a photographer by avocaton for now. That’s interesting about the powdered lye on the barn floors…I really need to do some research on what I take photographs of, and you’ve given me a good start. Thanks!

      Like

  2. dotdos says:

    Hi Angeline,
    I found your blog via the blog of Brian Gaynor. I am a nurse also enjoy meeting other cultures and countries through the network.
    I find your pictures very beautiful and interesting. I’m following you from now.
    Greetings from Mallorca!

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Hi, so nice to meet you! Thanks for the follow here, and thank you for the compliments. I will be over to visit on your blog soon. I’d love to find out about your field of nursing, and life in Mallorca.

      Like

  3. jeanne says:

    Love the photo app!

    Like

  4. Tricks of the mind…maybe. Wishful thinking…. maybe. That’s what makes life so interesting.

    Like

  5. I was on my way to work to tonight and I saw 3 men on top of their horses in the city. I forgot for a while that I live in one of the cowboy states. Beautiful photos my friend. Makes me wish I can travel to the country soon. take care.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Ah, yes…Texas has its share of cowboys 🙂 Hope you are able to get out into the country soon. It is good for the soul. I’m glad you like my photos.
      Have a good week.

      Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

