Project 365, Day 125; A Palm on Sunday

I woke up this morning thinking about it being Palm Sunday. I was brought up in the Catholic Religion, and went to Catholic school from kindergarten through college. I went along with the program for quite a while, but as I got a little older I began to wonder about going through the motions of what made up the Mass: kneel, stand, genuflect, make the sign of the cross, say the same words every time. I lost interest, but continued on to please my parents. After marriage and children, I made an attempt to keep up the charade; but somewhere along the line I couldn’t convince myself to convince my kids that this was something they should do too. I let it go after four or five years of sending them to weekly catechism classes. I came to the realization that being a compassionate, and loving human being didn’t have to include going to a building every Sunday with a group of people. My husband and I had always taught our children that part, to be loving to everyone, to treat others as they would want to be treated, to be caring and compassionate, and that is what we emphasized as they grew up. Our children have become wonderful adults that we are proud of.

Photos by Angeline M

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in 365, A Little Bit of the Everyday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Project 365, Day 125; A Palm on Sunday

  1. I’m staying out of this conversation:) but I did enjoy your palm frond.

    Like

  2. Maggie L R says:

    It sounds like there is something missing at the church you went to..They didn’t tell you that attending church is not about the ritual, it is about a relationship with Jesus. I go to church to worship and to learn. Once I made the commitment to follow Jesus and gave my heart to Him, my life changed in a wonderful and dramatic way.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Oh, don’t get me wrong Maggie. I do have a relationship with God; as I’ve grown older I just don’t think of the Supreme Being as God or Jesus, but as the Universe that supports and loves me. We all call this different things. I know there is a Being greater than us all that has put us here to serve a purpose. I follow that Supreme Being and am grateful for all the abundance showered upon me. I meditate, I learn, I love. “And above all else, love one another”. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

      Like

  3. ShimonZ says:

    I believe that organized religion had a very positive influence on the lives of their followers for centuries. I’m not sure that what was most important was the theology or the ideology, or the ritual. There was also the community, and there were certain values that were passed from generation to generation. The spirit of our times is individualism, and so, in much of the west, spiritualism, which is amorphous and does not demand the same commitment that religion does, has taken the place of organized religion. I don’t believe that it provides the same framework. It’s obvious that we can’t go back… But it seems to me that we’ll have to find a vehicle that will offer support, comfort and a framework of values in the future.

    Like

    • Angeline M says:

      Thanks for commenting Shimon. I think that what got to me, as I said in the post, is the ritual that seemed like everyone going through the motions, no real feeling; I’m guessing a lot of it was me that didn’t have the feelings connected with the ritual. You are right in that community is missing in my thinking, but I’ve always felt closer to the Universe/Supreme Being speaking my own words of gratitude, not those from a book. My source of comfort and support comes from family and friends. A framework of values must be built from within, don’t you think?

      Like

Leave a comment with your thoughts

