365, Day 15, Island Radio

   

Kauai is definitely a driving island, there’s no way around it if you’re going to get out and see the island at all. It is entirely possible though, to completely veg out and just stay put at your hotel or condo, make no mistake about that. In fact, I could have been pretty content sitting on one of the beach lounge chairs there on Kalapaki Beach under a palm tree, with a good book and an adult beverage for eight days in a row.  But it usually only takes the husband and I about two days in to a vacation before we say, “enough of this resting already! Let’s get out and explore!”

We rented a car on three separate days (so we could rest in between) and drove north around the island one day, and south around the next two times.

I’ll get to our specific points of interest about the island later, but today I just had to mention Island Radio.  Since we were driving around the week after Thanksgiving, we were listening to non-stop Christmas carols on the radio.

I don’t know why Christmas carols seemed so incongruent to me as we drove around and took photos of palms and beaches.

It just seemed hard to get in to the spirit of “I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas” (though I guess one might be dreaming of a white Christmas living in Hawaii), “Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire”, and “Frosty The Snowman”.  We did hear some great songs with a Hawaiian twist (“The Twelve Days of Christmas”, and really great was “My Favorite Things” that were Hawaiian things and sung by a children’s choir that I wish I had the name of.

And we drove onward to find a feel of Christmas here and there.

The Grand Hyatt

And back “home” at the Marriott

That’s a window behind the Christmas tree, not a painting, by the way

Island Radio kept us entertained.  And when we got tired of Christmas music we changed the station to Rooster Country at 99.9.  Really, Rooster Country. I’ll explain the rooster (and chicken) thing another day.

“Mele Kalikimaka is Hawaii’s way To say Merry Christmas to you”

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in 365, A Little Bit of the Everyday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 365, Day 15, Island Radio

  1. jeanne says:

    Your pictures make my feel like I am right there on the island.

  2. A.Barlow says:

    Some cool shots. maybe next year I’ll get to go to this place. I really want to go to Kona.

  3. jakesprinter says:

    Your photos are all good combine with your great writing impressive :)

Leave a comment with your thoughts

