Foreclosure, Day 112; Ding! Credit Hit With Loan Mod

I woke up this very cool Northern California Sunday morning feeling calm and at peace.  I snuck out of bed, leaving a still slumbering husband to dream on. I had my first cup of coffee looking out at our little back patio with a fence covered in the lovely honeysuckle vine that we planted three years ago after we moved in. I had the gardners trim it and all the bushes in back yesterday and let them know that would be the last time we would need their service. It was sad saying goodby to the gardners, we’ve become friends and they’ve taken good care of us while we’ve been here.

The patio, tiny as it is, always brings feelings of peace and tranquility to me. I settled in at the computer to read the morning news and BLAM! The peace is gone. A bomb went off in my head as I read one of the articles in the San Francisco Chronicle, that I attach here, about loan mods dinging your credit score as do short sales. I’ve read this elsewhere, but I guess the story within the story about this family in Livermore just makes me furious. This whole deal about the HAMP program to assist people to keep their homes is a big farce! And what the article says is true in that one cannot even begin to get help until you are at least 60 days late in your mortgage payments. So you’re credit is screwed right from the beginning. I’ve said it before, and I will say it again. I am so freakin happy that we just decided to walk away instead of play the bank’s ridiculous games of trial mods and then they screw you anyway. People need to wake up and see these loan modifications for what they are.

The link to the article follows, and now if you will excuse me, I will take my leave to continue packing so that we can be out of here in a few weeks and let the bank have this house back.

http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?file=/c/a/2010/05/23/BUJH1DGQEO.DTL

About Angeline M

Love to travel, read, garden. I am a nurse case manager working in Disease Management. Photos of locations visited are personal file photos.
This entry was posted in Foreclosure and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment with your thoughts

